Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Segment 1 course consists of 24 hours of classroom time, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training, and 4 hours of in-car observation. In this segment, we cover basic driving skills, from driving in a neighbourhood to getting you on the highway.
We add skits, hands-on activities, and guest speakers to keep things interesting. On the last day of class, we meet with parents/guardians to discuss the responsibilities of having a new teen driver in the household. Pertinent information is distributed, and the procedure for getting their teen a Michigan Driver's License is discussed.
Road Ready typically holds our Segment One class times anywhere from 2 1/2 to 3 weeks depending on location and schedule. Class time DOES NOT include driving sessions. These sessions are scheduled within the first three days of the class and may be chosen by the students outside of the regularly scheduled class time. By State law we have up until 3 weeks after the last day of class to finish driving with our students. So, in our busy months and with large classes, please keep this in mind. The scheduling for the drive times tends to be very flexible and offered frequently, however, restrictions apply. Please refer to the Segment One Contract or our offices for more information.
**Please be advised that Foreign Exchange Students will not receive any type of Michigan Permit, nor will you receive a refund if you decide to take the driver's education class which is for learning purposes only
PLEASE NOTE: You must upload all the required paperwork on your Road Ready online account (Class and Drive Login) at least 7 days before the start of class.
The entire process takes a minimum 6-7 months depending on when the student receives their Graduated Level One License and how quickly the student and the family wish to progress. Guidelines and time restrictions may be found by viewing the Teen Driver Ed page here.
We accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover. If you need to make other payment arrangements, feel free to call our corporate office to make arrangements. We also accept payment from government organizations as well. If you do not have one of those cards available to you, we also accept pre-paid Visa, Discover, and MasterCard's.
Our payment plan is as follows:
Half payment of the entire class price must be done at the time of registration to hold your spot in class. The remaining balance will be due 1 week after class starts. A one-time fee of $30 is added to any account that is not paid in full by the due date.
If the other half of your balance is not paid by the due date all drives will be frozen until further notice.
PLEASE NOTE: You must upload all the paperwork listed below on your Road Ready online account (Class and Drive Login) at least 7 days before the start of class else you will be removed from the class.
It is not necessary for parents to be there on the first day of class with their students as long as the students have the required paperwork uploaded to their account. We do hold an informational parent meeting on the last day of class. For details, please talk with the classroom instructor.
The cost for segment one covers your student's classroom time, driving, taxes, activities, and gas. The cost for segment two is not included with segment one.
When do the students drive?
Students will be signing up for drive times during the first week of class. These drive times are scheduled outside of the posted class dates and times and can take up to 3 weeks after the class to complete. The instructor will explain the process to scheduling your drives the first day of class.
Road Ready does allow a student to make up a maximum of 3 missed classes. If your student misses more than 3 days of class, they MUST re-enroll in Segment One over again at a cost.
Please speak with the classroom instructor on the first day of class if you believe that your student may be missing a class during their Segment 1 session, and the classroom instructor will explain to you and the student on how the days missed will be made up. Classes are able to be made up after the original class has ended. There are no exceptions to the rules.
If your school district has announced a snow day, Road Ready classes (which include driving times) at the respective location will be canceled as well. Please keep this in mind if you are attending a classroom location other than your own school, or a community location. If the students driving instructor decides that the road conditions are good enough to drive in later that day, they might be calling you to let you know drives will still take place as scheduled. Please make sure all contact information has been updated in your online account.
All of our cars are updated and has a right-side brake pedals, giving instructors complete control. Each is cleaned and sanitized regularly and comes with a hand sanitizer and first-aid kit. All undergo constant and detailed inspections by our operations department.
Is my son/daughter allowed to drive out of the State of Michigan with their Graduated Level One License?
The Level 1 Learner's License may or may not be recognized in another state. You will need to contact the licensing agency in the other state to see if that state will recognize Michigan's Level 1 Learner's License. Click here for more info.
The State laws prohibit us from having more than 36 students attending one class, therefore we must limit our enrollment to 36 students – no exceptions may be made.
I do not have an original birth certificate.
State documents verifying your age are also appropriate. Examples: passport, state identification card, etc.
Segment one requires a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a licensed instructor. Students will need to sign up for six separate sessions which will run for two hours per session. During these two-hour sessions, there is two other students in the vehicle along with your student and the instructor (we DO NOT allow more than three students per session). The three students will drive for 45 minutes each during the session. When a student is not driving, they will be using this time to observe and learn by filling out a worksheet in the back seat while the other student drives. (Only 4 hours of observation are required for teens).
This is a good question and there are several reasons RRDS wishes for the students to send 8 hours of availability via emailed to email@example.com. The foremost reason concerns the responsibility: the RRDS and instructors believe that we aren't just teaching the students how to drive but educating them on all the responsibilities that are involved with operating a motor vehicle. Therefore, part of this responsibility includes sending over the hours of availability and keeping accurate records of their drive times and communicating this schedule to their parents or guardians.
Also, based on the way we have students scheduled for drives, we only have enough space in the classroom for the students and the instructor. Unfortunately, having the parents and guardians in the classroom as well as the students and instructor would be very chaotic and disruptive to your students learning, since the driving times are scheduled outside of class.
Please Note: During the drive students are not to be on the cell phones while observing a drive. Students are not allowed to wear boots, sandals, long eye lashes or nails if not professional put on to avoid any distractions. We hope you can understand. Any clarification on this can be discussed by calling our corporate office. We want to make sure everyone has accommodated appropriately.
Yes, of course, you can! However, it is crucial that you first obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit from your local Secretary of State Branch Office. This document will allow you to participate in the driving portion of this class. Your permit will cost a fee and requires that you pass a written exam. You must bring a photocopy of your valid TIP to your first day of class, along with your completed Michigan Adult Segment One Contract found under our Forms link on the home page of our website. If you wish to postpone obtaining your TIP, you will only be allowed to complete the classroom portion of Segment 1.
Is that their Graduated Level One License?
NO! This is the Michigan Graduated Segment One Certificate of Completion – This is NOT a permit and does not allow your son or daughter to drive with an adult or guardian. This document simply verifies that your student has successfully completed the Segment One program through our school and may now apply for their Graduated Level One License through the Secretary of State (a.k.a driving permit). They are only qualified to drive once they have gone to the Secretary of State, and have been issued their permit. Students and parents must be present to obtain this permit.
Please click on this link to view the Secretary of State Identification requirements:
A licensed adult driver, 21 years of age or older.
A licensed, legal parent/guardian.
For more information, please refer to Michigan's Graduated Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents.
What about the Graduated Level One License (a.k.a. permit)? Does that expire as well?
There is an expiration date on the Graduated Level One – it should be the student's 18th birthday. This is the day that the permit expires and you have until that date to take a road test.
Please click here to view the Secretary of State Identification requirements: